top of page

Rohr Ranked 19th World’s Best National Team Coach

Super Eagles head coach, Gernot Rohr, has been ranked 19th in the 2019 world’s best national coaches.

The ranking was released by the International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS).

Rohr is joint 19th in the ranking alongside five others – the national team coaches of Sweden, South Korea, Denmark, China and Iran.

Rohr led the Eagles to a third place finish at this year’s Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

The Eagles are currently top of their 2021 AFCON qualifying group after winning their opening two games.

Djamel Belmadi, who led Algeria to the 2019 AFCON title, is fifth on the list while the number one is Portugal’s coach Fernando Santos.

Brazil coach Tite is ranked number two, while Belgium coach, Roberto Martinez is the third best ranked coach.

France head coach Didier Deschamps is ranked number four with England’s Gareth Southgate in number six.

The IFFHS is an organization that chronicles the history and records of association football.

It was founded on 27 March 1984 in Leipzig by Alfredo Poge with the blessings of general secretary of the FIFA at the time, Helmut Kaser.

2019 World National Team Coaches Ranking

Two or more coaches are jointly ranked in some positions than

1 Fernando Santos, Portugal (Portugal)

2 Adenor Bacchi “TITE”, Brazil (Brazil)

3 Roberto Martinez, Spain (Belgium)

4 Didier Deschamps, France (France)

5 Djamel Belmadi, Algeria (Algeria)

6 Gareth Southgate, England (England)

7 Roberto Mancini, Italy (Italy)

8 Andrei Shevchenko, Ukraine (Ukraine)

9 Ricardo Gareca, Argentina (Peru)

10 Nicolas Dupuis, France (Madagascar)

10 Felix Sanchez, Spain (Qatar)

12 Zlatko Dalic, Croatia (Croatia)

12 Ronald Koeman, Netherlands (Netherlands)

12 Roberto Moreno, Spain (Spain)

12 Oscar Tabarez, Uruguay (Uruguay)

16 Senol Gunes, Turkey (Turkey)

17 Jerzy Brzeczek, Poland (Poland)

18 Aliou Cisse, Senegal (Senegal)

19 Jan Olof Andersson, Sweden (Sweden)

19 Paulo Bento, Portugal (South Korea)

19 Age Hareide, Norway (Denmark)

19 Marcello Lippi Italy (China)

19 Gernot Rohr, Germany (Nigeria)

19 Marc Wilmots, Belgium (Iran)

4 views0 comments


bottom of page