top of page

Nigeria Unveil Crack Flamingos Squad To Crush Congo

The NFF has released the list of 20 ruthlessly efficient under 17 damsels expected to bring distress to their Congolese counterparts across two legs of second round world cup qualifiers in March.

The away leg is set for the 6th in Kinshasa Congo whilst the home leg on the 19th will be played in Benin City.

The Congolese team have been talking tough stating that they are very ready to dress the Flamingos down in Kinshasa. The Nigerian ladies have also be boasting, but theirs have been on the pitch by demolishing opponents in tune up matches.

As Nigeria failed to qualify for the last edition of the tournament, coach Bankole is pulling out all the stops to ensure the West African juggernauts qualify for this year's tournament in India slated for October.

From the likes of fantastic Faith Omilana in goal and authentic Alvine Dah-Zossu as the arrow head, the Flamingos are out to obliterate their opponents.

That said, it is not expected to be a stroll in the park for Nigeria as the Congolese promise to put up a determined fight.

But with three quarter final achievements in previous under 17 women's world cup tournaments, an illustrious female senior national team set up and a decent domestic female football set up, the Flamingos have experience, quality, reputation and pedigree on their side.

Egypt lie in wait for the winner of this tie.

Flamingos Squad for Congo:

Goalkeepers: Faith Omilana (Honey Baggers); Linda Jiwuaku (Club Unknowing)

Defenders: Blessing Sunday (Edo Queens); Comfort Folorunsho (Delta Queens); Confidence Iwoha (Club Unknown); Tumininu Adesina (Naija Ratels); Mamuzo Edafe (Club Unknown); Miracle Usani (Abia Angels); Olamide Oyinlola (Club Unknown)

Midfielders: Blessing Emmanuel (Club Unknown); Taiwo Afolabi (Delta Queens);

Chidera Okenwa (Club Unknown); Aminat Bello (SGH Amazons).

Attackers: Sofiat Bankole (Club Unknown); Alvine Dah-Zossu (Osun Babes); Anastasia Atume (Club Unknown); Kafayat Bashiru (Club Unknown); Raheemot Adebayo (FC Robo); Joy Igbokwe (Club Unknown); Opeyemi Ajakaye (Club Unknown).

Copyright Notice © : unauthorised use of this material is strictly prohibited

274 views0 comments
bottom of page