top of page

How Strong Is The List Released By Peseiro For Afcon Qualifiers

This week, Super Eagles head coach Jose Peseiro invited captain Ahmed Musa, goalkeeper Adebayo Adeleye, defender William Ekong, midfielder Alex Iwobi and forward Moses Simon among others for next weekend’s 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against the Leone Stars of Sierra Leone in Monrovia.

Well, without analyzing the exclusion of certain players, I think it is fair to say that this list ticks certain boxes.

  • 1. A strong starting 11: check ✔️

  • 2. A decent bench: check ✔️

  • 3. A soupcon of homebased players: check ✔️

These are high profile games. If goalkeeper Adeleye gets the nod, it will be interesting to finally see what he brings to the table.

Aribo might have had a wretched season, he seems to have bought into the philosophy of the team.

Also, it seems he (and many other players) are willing to tolerate questionable methods of the NFF.

The midfield is the weakest department in this list. Alex Iwobi is the only top performer in that department.

The others (apart from the rookie homebased player) have largely posted mediocre performances in club football.

Nigeria fans can justifiably feel aggrieved for the midfield compilation but again, these are players willing to tolerate the NFF’s questionable ways.

The defence is solid in my view and the attack department is fully loaded with sharpshooters.

But I think we can do better in the goalkeeping department.

All in all I have little complaints about this list.

I think they can get the job done against the immediate opponents.

Several Nigeria fans bemoan the absence of players like Gift Orban, Chuba Akpom and Terem Moffi. I think these players will be included in future assignments.

Super Eagles List

Goalkeepers: Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel); Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Calvin Bassey (Ajax FC, The Netherlands); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Chidiebube Duru (Rivers United); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey)

Midfileders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Divine Nwachukwu (Bendel Insurance); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Moses Simon (Nantes FC, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey)

43 views0 comments


bottom of page