top of page

Ebuehi, Semi, Olayinka and Onyekuru drafted to Afcon Squad

The Super Eagles squad for January's Afcon has been tweaked by the NFF following the unavailability of several players in the previously released list.    

Health concerns and injuries constrain have led to the update.


Exciting Napoli striker Victor Osimhen’s positive test to the coronavirus pandemic a couple of days ago and injuries to the versatile defender Abdullahi Shehu and veteran defender Leon Balogun have led to their inevitable exclusions.


These paved the way for resurgent right back Tyrone Ebuehi, now with Venezia in the Italian Serie A, and England –based Oluwasemilogo Ajayi to be drafted in by the NFF for Africa’s flagship football championship.


Osimhen’s absence was compensated for by inviting Greece-based Henry Onyekuru who was also at the last finals in Egypt.

In-form marauder Emmanuel Dennis, whose English Premiership club is throwing toys out of their pram, has been reluctantly excused to provide room for Czech Republic –based forward Peter Olayinka.

It remains to be seen whether all the 4 newly invited players will honour their invitations.


The 33rd Africa Cup of Nations finals will start on 9 January and will end on 6th February.   




Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)


Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)


Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)


Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic)

59 views0 comments
bottom of page