top of page

Breaking News: Ighalo Returns as Super Eagles List is Released

Coach of Nigeria Gernot Rohr has made good on his recent statements regarding Odion Ighalo by including the former Watford and Manchester United striker in the Super Eagles squad for November world cup qualifiers.

Nigeria will battle Liberia away on Saturday 13th of November before locking horns with Cape Verde at home 3 days later. The Super Eagles cannot afford to drop crucial points in the matches for world cup qualification not to be put in jeopardy.

As a result of the crucial nature of the matches, Rohr has gone back to Ighalo whose goals were crucial for Nigeria to qualify for and attain bronze at the last Afcon.

Ighalo retired from international football after that 2019 Afcon citing the need to focus on club football. His invitation to these November games will divide opinions as many fans would have loved Ighalo to stay retired so other younger strikers like Taiwo Awoniyi (who was incidentally dropped for Ighalo on this list) can be given the opportunity to shine.

Other notable exclusions are Ebuehi and Emmanuel Dennis - both of whom would have been very active for their clubs in Italy and England respectively.

There is a return for Alex Iwobi while others like Onuachu, Onyeka and Akpoguma retain their places.

The full list: Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus; Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Zaidu Sanusi (Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Saudi Based); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal, Spain)

186 views0 comments


bottom of page