top of page

Analysing Nigeria's List For Afcon Qualifiers Against Sierra Leone and Sao Tome and Principles

Jose Peseiro formally released his own list for June’s Afcon qualifiers. Some fans have been left disappointed by the exclusion of players like Taiwo Awoniyi and Ejuke Chidera.

Regardless of who is included and excluded from this list, there are only 2 variables that I am interested in: 1) Does it contain a strong starting 11? 2) Does if contain a dependable bench? Mercifully, the answer to both questions is yes. For Peseiro’s preferred 3-5-2 formation, we have a hypothetical starting 11 that looks like: Francis Uzoho Ola Aina Calvin Bassey William Troost-Ekong Semi Ajayi Leon Balogun Alex Iwobi Frank Onyeka Joe Aribo Victor Osimhen Cyriel Dessers For the potential 4 subs, you have: Umar in for Dessers Etebo in for Onyeka Zaidu in for Bassey Lookman in Ajayi (with the team now going to a back 4). This list has resilience built in across departments as there is ample cover. For every player that is added, one player will be dropped. All of the players on this list are capable of delivering decent performances on their day. It is a 4/5 list for me.

SUPER EAGLES FOR SIERRA LEONE AND SÃO TOMÉ & PRÍNCIPE Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Adewale Adeyinka (Akwa United); Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Sani Faisal (Katsina United); Leon Balogun (Unattached); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain) Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Innocent Bonke (FC Lorient, France); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England) Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal CF, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Cyriel Dessers (Feyenoord FC, The Netherlands); Ademola Lookman (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France), Emmanuel Dennis (formerly of Watford FC).

Copyright Notice © : unauthorised use of this material is strictly prohibited

14 views0 comments
bottom of page