Agu and Aina dropped from Nigeria's final World Cup squad

Super Eagles manager Gernot Rohr has finally selected the final 23 players who will participate at the 2018 World Cup in Russia which commences this month.

Captain John Obi Mikel, Elderson Echiejile, Eddy Onazi, Ahmed Musa, Kenneth Omeruo and Victor Moses all survived from Nigeria's World Cup squad from 4 years ago.

Simeon Nwankwo (of Crotone FC Italy) is the most eye-catching inclusion after he was selected ahead of established strikers like Kayode and Ideye in the provisional 30 man squad, despite having no prior international football experience.

Chelsea defender Ola Aina, Porto midfielder Mikel Agu and Gent's Moses Simon have all missed out this time around. Because they are still young, they all have futures in Nigerian football.

The Nigeria squad contains three goalkeepers, eight defenders, six midfielders and six strikers.

Four foregn-born players in the shape of Leon Balogun, William Troost-Ekong, Tyronne Ebuehi and Brian Idowu have been selected in the group.

Aged 19, Deportivo Fabril's Francis Uzoho is the only teenager in the squad while Chippa United's Daniel Akpeyi, 31, is the oldest member of the team.

Nigeria 23-Man World Cup Squad

Goalkeepers (3): Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa Defenders (8): Abdullahi Shehu, Tyronne Ebuehi, William Ekong, Leon Balogun, Chidozie Awaziem, Elderson Echiejile, Kenneth Omeruo, Bryan Idowu Midfielders (6): Wilfred Ndidi, Mikel John Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, John Ogu, Oghenekaro Etebo, Joel Obi Strikers (6): Odion Ighalo, Simeon Nwankwo, Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa, Kelechi Iheanacho, Victor Moses


Like what you read ? kindly donate to ensure more articles are published

© 2017 by"Afrofooty"